North Texas Courthouses: A View into our Past

The courthouses adorning each county seat are a representation of the past, a portrait of the history of the great area we call North Texas. Each were constructed to signify a time of growth for each county: Parker, Wichita, Wise, Young, Denton, Montague, Cooke and Tarrant, when settlers were moving in and creating the communities we love so dearly.

It is awe inspiring to look back on each courthouse and its history, for many faced devastation time and time again, from arson to lightening strikes, to stand the test of time and portray and image of strength and beauty today. A place for not only local courts to conduct business, but a reminder of where we came from and how far we have left to go. We take a look at the unique past of each and the architecture created in these eight buildings.

To read more, pick up a copy of the July/August issue of LiveIt magazine.